## MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON 22 JULY 2009

Attendance:

The Mayor (Councillor Mrs Searle) (P) (in the Chair);

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Carr) (P);

Councillors Allen (P), Mrs Bailey (P), Ms Ballard (P), Beavis (P), Bradley (P), Burgess (P), Carter (P), Champion, Mrs Cully (P), Cully, Dickson (P), Edgar (P), Edwards (P), Mrs Forder (P), Forder (P), Foster-Reed (P), Geddes (P), Gill (P), Hicks (P), Hook (P), Hylands (P), Kimber (P), Langdon (P), Mrs Mitchell-Smith (P), Mrs Mudie (P), Murphy (P), Philpott (P), Smith (P), Ward, Miss West (P) and Wright (P).

Also in attendance Honorary Aldermen Mrs Bailey, Foster, O'Neill, Rushton and Searle.

\_\_\_\_

### ONE MINUTE'S SILENCE

In order to express their sympathy regarding the death of former Mayor, Honorary Alderman and Honorary Freeman Mrs Frances Behrendt on 30 June 2009, Members of the Council stood in silent tribute for one minute.

\_\_\_\_

# INTRODUCTION OF NEWLY ELECTED COUNCILLORS FOR THE BROCKHURST WARD

The Mayor welcomed Councillors Hylands and Mrs Mitchell-Smith, the newly elected Councillors for the Brockhurst Ward, to the meeting.

The Councillors replied briefly.

-\_\_\_-

#### **APOLOGIES**

Apologies for inability to attend the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors Champion, Cully and Ward and Honorary Aldermen Hayward and Lucas.

\_\_\_\_\_

## **ELECTION OF HONORARY FREEMAN**

COUNCIL UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED: That this Council, in pursuance of their powers under Section 249 (5) of the Local Government Act, 1972, do hereby confer on Ms Dee Caffari, MBE, the Honorary Freedom of the Borough of Gosport in recognition of her input into the maritime history of Gosport.

The meeting ended at 5.45pm