## MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON 13 FEBRUARY 2008

Attendance:

The Mayor (Councillor Gill) (P) (in the Chair);

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Kimber) (P);

Councillors Allen (P), Ms Ballard (P), Burgess (P), Carr (P), Carter (P), Mrs Champion, Champion, Chegwyn (P), Clinton (P), Mrs Cully (P), Cully (P), Davis, Dickson (P), Edgar (P), Farr (P), Foster, Foster-Reed (P), Hicks (P), Hook (P), Jacobs (P), Langdon (P), Mrs Mudie, Philpott, Rigg, Mrs Salter (P), Mrs Searle, Smith (P), Taylor (P), Train (P), Ward, Mrs Wright and Wright (P).

Also in attendance: Honorary Freeman Ashby and Honorary Aldermen Mrs Bailey, Flory, Foster, Hayward, O'Neill, Rushton, Mrs Snaith and Mrs Whitbread.

## APOLOGIES

Apologies for inability to attend the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors Mrs Champion, Champion, Davis, Foster, Philpott, Rigg, Mrs Searle, Ward and Mrs Wright and Honorary Alderman Miles.

## ELECTION OF HONORARY FREEMAN

COUNCIL RESOLVED: That this Council, in pursuance of their powers under Section 249 (5) of the Local Government Act, 1972, do hereby confer on Mrs Dorothy Rose Simpson, the Honorary Freedom of the Borough of Gosport in recognition of her eminent services to the people and Borough of Gosport over many years.

The Council rose at 6.22pm