MINUTES OF THE EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON 08 MAY 2008

Attendance:

The Mayor (Councillor Gill) (P) (in the Chair);

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Kimber) (P);

Councillors Allen (P), Mrs Bailey (P), Ms Ballard (P), Beavis (P), Bradley (P), Burgess (P), Carr (P), Carter (P), Champion (P), Chegwyn (P), Mrs Cully, Cully (P), Dickson, Edgar (P), Edwards (P), Mrs Forder, Forder (P), Foster-Reed (P), Geddes (P), Hicks (P), Hook (P), Langdon (P), Mrs Mudie, Murphy (P), Philpott (P), Mrs Salter (P), Salter (P), Mrs Searle (P), Smith (P), Ward (P), Miss West (P) and Wright (P).

Also in attendance: Honorary Aldermen Foster, O'Neill, Searle and Mrs Snaith.

APOLOGIES

Apologies for inability to attend the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors Mrs Cully, Dickson and Mrs Forder, Honorary Freeman Mrs Simpson and Honorary Aldermen Mrs Bailey and Lucas.

SELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor reported that in the election for half the Council on Thursday, 1 May 2008 Councillor Train, Deputy Mayor Elect, had lost his seat on the Council. It was therefore necessary to nominate a Deputy Mayor Elect for the Municipal Year 2008/09 for next Wednesday's Mayor Making Ceremony at the Annual Council meeting. The Labour Group accordingly nominated Councillor Mrs Searle as their nomination for Deputy Mayor Elect.

Councillor Mrs Searle's nomination was accordingly put to the meeting -

COUNCIL UNANIMOUSLY RESOLVED: That Councillor Mrs D Searle be elected Deputy Mayor Elect for the 2008/2009 Municipal Year.

Councillor Mrs Searle briefly returned thanks for her election as Deputy Mayor Elect for the Municipal Year 2008/2009.

The Meeting ended at 6.06 pm