Toggle menu

Positions decided on new-look council

Following the elections earlier this month, positions on Gosport Borough Council have now been decided.

The new Mayor of Gosport is Cllr Jamie Hutchison, and the Deputy Mayor is Cllr Martin Pepper.

The new Leader of the Council is Cllr Peter Chegwyn.

Board chairs are as follows:

  • Policy and Organisation Board - Cllr Chegwyn
  • Community and Environment Board - Cllr Julie Westerby
  • Housing Board - Cllr Sue Ballard
  • Regulatory Board - Cllr Richard Earle

Cllr Chegwyn said: "I'm delighted to be the new Leader of the Council. The new Liberal Democrat administration have exciting plans to breathe new life into Gosport and give our town a fresh start.

"We'll be announcing a series of projects over the coming weeks to regenerate our High Street, improve the market, bring back free short-stay car-parking, protect Gosport's historic buildings, upgrade all our childrens' play areas and clean up our town, to create a safer and better environment in which to live and work."


Share this page

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share by email